About Me

Because of a continuous need of rewriting, I decided to make it just a list view.
Regardless, I would be someone who prefers to get to know others by conversation, not by these kind of pages either way.

Recent updates:
18 September 2017 – Temporary place of residence removed, no longer valid as of this day.
16 September 2017 – Sections made for “Anime & Manga” and “Gaming”, “Who I am” reorganized, and a slight fix to “My opinion about the USA and Russia”
16 September 2017 – Nickname info shortened, new information to “other info” added, and information about my support to the UN, EU, CoE, and OPCW added.
21 August 2017 – Added temporary place of residence because of a temporary change in living situation. It’s hard to explain.
19 August 2017 – Separate sections made for “Languages & Translations” and “Film, TV, Books & Music”. Orphan Black moved to ended. Most loved country list updated.

Who I am

Name: Vadim Dovganyuk
Occupation: Student, Volunteer(Caregiver) and Translator
Place of birth: Zaporizhia, Ukraine
Place of residence: Dnipro, Ukraine
Nationality: Ukrainian
Ethnicity: Jewish, Crimean Karaite, Russian, Polish, Ukrainian
Political view: Syncretism
Religion: Karaite Judaism
Opinion about other religions(non-Judaism): A belief is a belief, I have no right to say it is good or bad if someone believes another belief. I know no religion preaches hate. I am friends with people of most religions, I do not see how it should matter in regular interaction.
Biological family: I was born to a Russian father, Polish mother, they’re both no longer alive. I have a (full-)sister living at Uzbekistan, Nieces/Nephews at Uzbekistan, Grandparents at Canada. – Rest of family I do not regard as direct-family.
Adoptive family: Adoptive parents of Russian and Ukrainian nationality. 9 adoptive siblings (as of May 2017) of multiple European nationalities.
Mental Health statuses/diagnoses: Autism, PTSD, Chronic Insomnia, Depression
Relationship Status: In a relationship (Girlfriend)
Favorite pastimes: Reading books, listening music, translating music, video games, sports, exploration, traveling, enjoying nature.
Interests: International relations, Diplomacy, Languages, Sociology, Social work, Science, Psychology, Technology
Dislikes: Discrimination(Incl. Racism), Trump, Putin, Separatism, Nationalism
Vegetarian/Vegan: I am a vegan, however, not by choice. I am intolerant/allergic to many animal products, not just in the way of eating and drinking.

Languages & Translation

Languages I speak and write: See: snowcalmth.com/languages
Me and my translations: I like translating, which shouldn’t be weird knowing I learned a lot of languages. However, I do find the meaning of a text more important than what is exactly written or said. In regards to that, I am someone who prefers to do transcreation; with thanks to Evgeniya Malenova for making me aware of the term “transcreation”. Transcreation in this situation is simply creative translating, keeping an emphasis on the meaning and intended tone of what is said. Hence that I focus on translating music, as at music this is needed in about 75% of the cases.
As a simple example, I wouldn’t translate the German text “Bis der Himmel untergeht” as “Until the sky goes under” which is the literal translation. Instead I would go with “Until the sun goes down”, which is the factual meaning of what is said.
To name some other examples, I would move around phrases if it would work better at the target language, use controversial wording if it fits the emphasis of a text, like the term “ain’t”. And if required, merge phrases together to create actual sentences.
As for the certified part, which is generally important at the subject of translations, I am not certified, yet. I say “yet” as there are most certainly plans to get myself the certifications needed later on.
Language knowledge: All languages stated to have been mastered at the languages page are certified that I have level C2 proficiency in these languages.
If there’s any reason for you to see any of the certificates, just let me know.

Film, TV, Books & Music

Top 5 Favorite Artists: Dima Bilan, David Clavijo, Alexandre Desplat, KSHMR, Offer Nissim
Favorite Book (Series): the “Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children” series
Preferred music genres: New age, Ambient, Classical, Pop rock, Gothic rock, Gothic Metal, Krautrock, Pagan Folk, Celtic Folk, Traditional Folk, Opera, Hip-Hop, R&B, J-pop, C-pop, Indo pop, Aggrotech
Preferred music language(s): Albanian, Arabic, Chinese, English, German, Greek, Hebrew, Mongolian, Romanian, Russian, Turkish, Ukrainian
Favorite TV series (ongoing): NCIS: LA, NCIS, Doctor Who, Scorpion, Suits, Designated Survivor, Brooklyn Nine-Nine, Marvel’s Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D., Killjoys
Favorite TV series (ended): Community, Grimm, Spooks, Lie To Me, Battlestar Gallactica(Original and Remake), Holby Blue, Torchwood, Continuum, Orphan Black, Sanctuary
Favorite movies: Extremely Loud & Incredibly Close, Spy, The Little Prince, LUV

Anime & Manga

Favorite Manga Series: Pandora Hearts
Favorite Anime Series: Hunter x Hunter (1999)
Favorite Anime Movie: .hack⁄⁄G.U. Trilogy
Preferred genres & categories: Supernatural, Proxy Battles, Angels, Demons, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Virtual Reality, Gaming, Cyberpunk, Mystery, Magic, Psychological
Age group: Shōnen. I only watch 2 anime that are seinen, first is Sword Art Online II(yes, still not finished!), and the other is Serial Experiments Lain. I don’t read any seinen manga.

Gaming

PC or Console: PC, without any doubt. I do have to admit that some exclusives on the Sony consoles are nice.
Favorite genres: Shooter, RPG, & MMO.
Preferred language: English, it’s eventually the true gaming language. I actually have macros for both text and speech to ask those who use certain annoying languages, like Russian, to use the English language instead.
PC specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1075T, 8 GB DDR3 1600MHz RAM, MSI GeForce GTX 1050 GAMING X 2G. Not the greatest in these times, but it works for all the games I play, and it was free for me, so hey, I can’t complain.(Supplied to me by dear sponsors from Leipzig, Germany <3)
Peripherals: Roccat Skeltr, Roccat Sova, Roccat Leadr, Roccat Kave XTD Digital, & SpeedLink Torid
Steam Profile: http://steamcommunity.com/id/snowcalmth/

My supports

Dedicated charity support: Благотворительный фонд “Дети планеты Земля”
Activism and advocacy: I am very strictly against all forms of violence, abuse, and hatred.
I am very supportive to causes in support of children, those who are homeless, veterans, equity, the environment, migration, mental health issues, health issues, education, anti-hunger, social inclusion, and anti-hatred. I am pro-Roma and pro-Refugees.
Top 5 most loved country: Austria, Mongolia, Germany, Greece, United Kingdom
My opinion about the USA and Russia: I am very clear about being against both current presidents of these countries(Trump and Putin). This is because of them both being unfit to lead their countries, in my opinion. I do not have any problems with either normal Americans, nor Russians, just their governments.
Equality: I’m supportive to a combination of equality and equity, meaning that everyone should be recognized for their abilities, regardless of anything, and awarded equally for it on the performance delivered, even if there are differences like gender and such.
United Nations: The UN and I have a love-hate relationship, we have parts we like and dislike of each other, which I am not worried about voicing, even though the people of the UN can’t do the same. Eventually though, I do support the United Nations most often, and I am glad they are willing to hear me, as it means a lot to me.
European Union: I support the EU on most parts, however, not everything, like when it comes to copyright. Still, I do believe Europe as a whole is better off with the EU than without, as unity is power…
Council of Europe: Rights, law, and culture, so.. I love the CoE, there is no denying of it. I believe strongly in the rights of everyone, apart of copyright, and well, my adoptive family is heavily active when it comes to law. As for culture, a lot of parts of my life are about multiculturalism. In all regards, the Council of Europe and I are supportive to mostly the same goals, and even more important to me, they are not as restrictive as , just as an example, the EU, with both Russia and Turkey being part of the CoE members.
Organisation for the Prohibition of Chemical Weapons: The only part of life that I can state about that I am 100% supportive to. I got to know them through their Twitter follow, but regardless, I can only state that I support all their goals and ways, and I respect every single person of the OPCW immensely, truly amazing work they have done, and still do.

Social media accounts

Twitter: twitter.com/snowcalmth
Facebook: facebook.com/snowcalmth
YouTube: youtube.com/snowcalmth
Google+: plus.google.com/108160805711828492439
VK(ontakte): vk.com/snowcalmth
Foursquare: foursquare.com/user/337902309

Other info

The choice of nickname: While it is now “snowcalmth”, it actually used to be “whitecalmth”, which I started using before my social media activity, and I just used to play video-games. I decided to change because of some people saying it could be seen as a bit discriminatory.
Favorite color: I like the color white and aqua.
The connection to snow: I love the cold weather, and I am the happiest during the autumn and winter. As well do I love seeing everything around me covered by the bliss of snow. Snow means happiness to me, but as for the true reason behind it, I do not know, it is just how it is.
Social media connections: I sometimes get asked about the amount of connections I have on my social media accounts, like the current ~260 thousand Twitter follows, ~2270 VK friends, ~1250 Facebook friends, and ~26 thousand Instagram followers. In all honesty, the only thing I can say is that I maintain my accounts throughout the day, and while I am not really into replying to things in public that much, I do end up using the private messaging systems/chat systems very often to interact with others. Apart of that, I am in luck when it comes to friends and family who have “higher social statuses” than most, including quite obviously myself. Eventually, it is exactly what the word says, “connections”, so 1 connection can lead to another, and another, and so on, which is the case for most of my social media profiles.